General Election Pledge – Carers

CarerWatch asked all Prospective Parlimentary Candidates in the General Election to support the following pledge.

Carer Watch are concerned that all past / present governments have failed to recognise that family carers are at the heart of the care system. Unless family carers are acknowledged and supported, both financially and through care services, no new system will be sustainable. Family carers are not an optional extra to be
added on as an after thought.

Any new government needs to face up to this and make some speed in deciding how to adequately fund family carers. Ten years of nothing was serious, TWENTY YEARS OF NOTHING IS NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Carer Watch believe that ANY Government should recognise that carers are a unique group within the benefits system because they have to fulfil the government contracted 35 hours of care to qualify for Carers Allowance.

Carer Watch calls on all Prospective Parliamentary Candidates to pledge their support by adding their name and a comment here or contacting

1. demanding an IMMEDIATE review of Carers Benefits
Carers should be paid a level of financial support that

1. eliminates carer poverty and

2.empowers carers to achieve dignity and quality of life.
The present allowance of £53.10 is an affront to human dignity and fails to support carers..see notes below

2. protecting Disability Benefits ( over 65s ).
One of the objectives of originally introducing AA was that it helped and empowered the claimant, it gave them the independence and flexibility of directing the spending of their allowance based on their own judgement of their immediate and individual needs.. AA is an entirely fit for purpose benefit just as it is, LEAVE IT

Many thanks to the following candidates who signed

Pledge to End Carer Impoverishment

  • Caroline Lucas, Green Party parliamentary candidate for Brighton Pavilion.
  • Joseph Healy, Green Party Parliamentary Candidate for Vauxhall
  • Darren Johnson, Green Party Candidate for Lewisham Deptford
  • Roger Barlow – LibDem PPC for Macclesfield
  • Jim Ferguson, Conservative Party Candidate – Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch & Strathspey
  • Jessica Goldfinch Green Party PPC Norwich North
  • Kevin Hind Labour PPC Bury St Edmunds
  • Anne Gray Green Parliamentary Candidate for Tottenham
  • Labour Representation Committee
  • Michael Meacher Labour PPC Oldham West and Royton
  • Andrew Newby Green Party parliamentary candidate for Hendon
  • Sarah Evans Labour’s PPC for NW Hampshire
  • Michael Connarty – Labour Linlithgow and East Falkirk
  • Steve Barnard Green Party Candidate Sheffield Hallam
  • Malcolm Bailey -Green Party Parliamentary Candidate for Mid Bedfordshire
  • Lee Skevington – Labour Party candidate for the Yeovil constituency
  • Scottish National Party
  • Dafydd Trystan Davies -Plaid Cymru candidate for Cynon Valley
  • Paul Bell – one of the Labour Candidates for Telegraph Hill Ward, Lewisham Borough Council
  • Steve Dawe -Press Officer of Kent Green Party
  • Susan Murray Green Party candidate for Lewes
  • Peter Hirst Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Candidate for Congleton
  • Chris Tucker Liberal Candidate for Slough
  • Prue Bray , Lib Dem candidate for Wokingham
  • Dr Juliet Williams Liberal Democrat PPC for Brighton Kemptown
  • Andrew Dakers Leader of Hounslow Liberal Democrats
  • Michael Mullaney – Bosworth Liberal Democrat
  • Robert Adamson -Lib Dem Candidate for East Yorkshire
  • Richard Baum Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Candidate for Bury North
  • Parmjit Singh Gill – Liberal Democrat PPC for Leicester South and former MP
  • Nigel Bennett – Liberal Democrat PPC for South Suffolk
  • Mike Popham – Prospective MP for Bristol East Liberal Democrats
  • Derek Deedman – Liberal Democrat Candidate for Arundel & South Downs
  • Andrew Aalders -Dunthorpe Liberal Democrat PPC for Central Suffolk and North Ipswich
  • Sally McIntosh – Lib Dem Candidate for Mid Derbyshire
  • Geoff Williams – Lib Dem candidate for South Basildon & East Thurrock
  • Alexis Saliou DIOUF -Liberal Democrats PPC for South Derbyshire
  • Julian Huppert – Liberal Democrat PPC for Cambridge
  • Peter Fisher – LibDem PPC for Ribble South
  • Terrye Teverson – PPC Truro Falmouth Liberal Democrats
  • Dave Naghi -PPC for Faversham & Mid-Kent for the Lib-Dems
  • Peter Tyzack-Liberal Democrat candidate for Filton & Bradley Stoke
  • Harrish Bisnauthsing -Liberal Democrats PPC for GRANTHAM AND STAMFORD CONSTITUENCY
  • Trevor Carbin – LibDem PPC South West Wiltshire
  • Julian Brazil – Lib Dem Parliamentary Candidate Totnes
  • Barry Rabone -Lib dems paliamentary candidate
  • Paul Brighton – LibDem PPC Alyn& Deeside
  • Chris Williams , Plaid Cymru Party of Wales Parliamentary Candidate for Cardiff Central
  • David Chappell – Lib Dem PPC for Bury St Edmunds
  • Mike Bell – Liberal Democrat PPC for Weston-super-Mare
  • Paul Elgood – Lib Dem Brighton and Hove
  • Dr Jon Underwood – PPC Tiverton and Honiton Liberal Democrats
  • Roger Barlow – Liberal Democrat Candidate for Macclesfield
  • Julia Davis – Liberal Democrat PPC for Stevenage
  • Sally FitzHarris – Lib Dem PPC for Kingswood
  • Emma Dixon – Green Party Parliamentary Candidate, Islington North
  • Chris Bowers – Lib Dem PPC Wealden
  • Helen Flynn – Liberal Democrat PPC for Skipton & Ripon
  • Jamie Saddler – Lib Dem PPC Wirral South
  • Wilson Chowdhry – Green Party Candidate Ilford South
  • George Heron – Green Party candidate for Bury South
  • Steve Webb MP – LibDem Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions
  • Richard Gadsden – Liberal Democrat PPC for Worsley and Eccles South
  • Peter Wilcock – LibDem PPC for Saffron Walden
  • Ruth Coleman – LibDem PPC for Leeds West
  • Carol Woods – Lib Dem PPC City of Durham
  • Llyr Huws Gruffydd – Plaid Cymru candidate for Clwyd West
  • Chris Took – Ashford LibDem PPC
  • Dr Richard Grayson, Liberal Democrat PPC, Hemel Hempstead
  • Donald Lyven – Green Party Candidate for Finchley & Golders Green
  • Alex Feakes, Liberal Democrat PPC for Lewisham West & Penge
  • Kate Tansley, Green Party Parliamentary Candidate for Chipping Barnet
  • Roger Godsiff – Labour PPC for Birmingham, Sparkbrook & Small Heath
  • Chris Southall – Green Party PPC Clacton on Sea
  • Hratche Koundarjian – Labour PPC Lewes
  • Stuart Bodsworth – LibDem PPC for Stockport
  • Fiona Hornby Liberal Democrat PPC for Devizes
  • Gina Dowding: Green Party PPC, Lancaster and Fleetwood
  • Farida Aslam – Plaid Cymru PPC Cardiff South & Penarth
  • Natalie Bennett, Green Party candidate Holborn and St Pancras
  • Simon Burgess – Labour & Co-op PPC – Brighton Kemptown & Peacehaven
  • Chris Bramall – Liberal Democrat Parliamentary candidate, Stourbridge
  • Tim Farron – Liberal Democrat candidate for Westmorland and Lonsdale
  • Alan Hilliar – PPC Libdems Surrey Heath
  • 2 Responses to “General Election Pledge – Carers”

    1. Carer / News Says:

      […]  1.General election pledge for carers –… […]

    2. peter austin Says:

      tory mps signed up to this are very noticable by their ABSENCE!

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google photo

    You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

    Connecting to %s

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: