Day 4 – Roxy and Sophie’s stories re Closure of Independent Living Fund

“We can’t go back 30-odd years” – watch Sophie talking about the Independent Living Fund and her fears for the future in this powerful film by Kate Belgrave.

Also read Roxys story

I have been fortunate enough to be entitled to the receipt of funding from the ILF for all of my adult life; and have consequently enjoyed a high standard of life thus far. I have multiple disabilities ( including severe physical impairment, severe visual impairment, and Type 1 Diabetes), and the ILF has meant that it has been possible for me to have my support needs met.

 

These considerable care needs mean that I require round-the-clock assistance to do pretty much everything. I need help with washing, dressing, toileting, all aspects of personal care, managing my diabetes, preparing food, eating it, undressing, physiotherapy, moving in bed over night, and those are just my very basic requirements. The extra funding from the ILF means that I can afford to get the support to live a little, rather than just meet these basic needs.

 

Read in full here

 

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

