Will I still get Personal Independence Payments if G4S can’t talk to me?

 

When I was asked to take part in the testing of the first draft of the Personal Independence Payment (PIP) assessment, I was very uneasy about it. While I didn’t want to be seen as condoning it; I chose to take part to prove to what extent the assessments pose difficulties for other deafblind people.

I am a profoundly deafblind wheelchair user, and have other medical needs. Most people are likely to think that someone with my impairments and long-term health conditions would be one of "the most vulnerable in society" that this government claims to be protecting. Yet, the coalition’s insistence on face-to-face assessments will probably lead to me losing out because quite simply, I wasn’t able to take part in the pilot.

Will I still get Personal Independence Payments if G4S can’t talk to me? | Society | guardian.co.uk

2 Responses to “Will I still get Personal Independence Payments if G4S can’t talk to me?”

  1. Kevin James Says:

    This is brilliant. I have already shared it but have shared it again. Ruled by numpties.

  2. Aiden Roberts Says:

    Let’s hope that your participation or not in the Personal Independence Payment assessment will do some good for both you and others who need help communicating.

    I applaud you for volunteering and without people like yourself giving up your time the assessment is sure to fail at the first hurdle.

    I sincerely hope that you can bypass the face to face element of PIP and wish you the best of luck!

    Aiden

Leave a Reply

