‘Keeping Mum’ and the true face of caring

During my Easter holiday break, I allowed myself to take with me just one piece of work – a book called Keeping Mum: caring for someone with dementia, which I had been asked to review. With a couple of long tube journeys down the Piccadilly Line to Heathrow, plus some time waiting to board at either end, I figured I could at least read chunks of the book to enable me to write a decent review.

But this is not that sort of book – I found myself enthralled, and read it from cover to cover. The main part of the book is a series of blogs that the author, Marianne Talbot, wrote for Saga Magazine, to record her experiences caring for her mother. Marianne uses an endearing term for the cared-for person – ‘piglet’ – ‘Person I Give Love and Endless Therapy to’ courtesy of Hugh Marriott who used it in his book about caring.

read in full here

Leave a Reply

