‘Capacity to work is not an abstract concept’

Incapacity benefit reform is not addressing the underlying question : Are disabled people avoiding work or are unwilling to employ them?

see in full here

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “‘Capacity to work is not an abstract concept’”

  1. John Hargrave Says:

    Most disabled people would love to be able to go to work, however many employers create barriers for them and believe they will have a negative effect their business. Also, they are not prepared to make reasonable adjustments to cater for them. In a recession like this, with unemployment at a high, there is even less chance disabled people will be able find work. I think people with hidden disabilities will take the brunt of this, ill thought out, government plan. Furthermore, their benefits will be slashed and if they do not jump to the DWP instructions they will lose all their benefits. What on earth is the country coming to?

  2. Granny Bea Says:

    The Country should be judged by the way it treats its vulnerable and right now, the only word to describe how England treats those who need protection and support is, appalling.

    Those of us who have struggled to remain in work despite chronic illness now find ourselves in the DWP Spin Dryer treated with disrespect; regarded as cheats and lead swingers, accused of lying. Soon I shall be three years and three months short of my official state retirement date: my GP – who tends not to be a liar despite the judgment of the DLA Tribunal, and other medicos recommend ill health retirement – now. I have been without any form of income for almost three months, exhausted what few pennies I had and have had to apply for benefit. I am allowed ESA but I have to undergo a medical examination to prove that I am burnt out. They will offer me training to get me back to work; they will offer me encouragement to think positively about how I can return to work. All of which is meaningless. I have accrued 45 years worth of contributions to my state pension; I am entitled to the higher rate state pension because of those contributions.

    So I ask an economical question: would it be cheaper for the authorities to accept the advice of my medical advisors and allow me to officially retire at 60 and claim the state pension I have paid for; or, is it more cost effective for them to spend my money on contractors to examine me (this involves a round trip of 70 miles in my case), another contractor to assess my barriers to my return to work (a 20 mile round trip) and, to encourage me to return to reduced hours of work, offer me a shopping voucher to the value of £50.00 and then conveniently forget to send it to me?

    Under the terms of the grant of ESA it is calculated that my living expenses are £2.11 per day. This would, if I had no sense of taste at all, probably buy me a tin of value baked beans, a loaf of bread and an oily spread made from whale fat posing as imitation butter but I would not be able to heat my cottage, run any electrical equipment, pay my mortage , pay my poll tax, my utility bills, my insurances etc etc etc etc etc. I live alone, not by choice, and I would have to have my animal companions put down; live in one room and choose each day whether to be warm or to be fed. I would like to see a cost benefit analysis of the administration of the ESA and have it cross-referenced against the cost of allowing those of us worn out by work to retire with dignity.

    I am not a cheat: I am not a liar; I am not work shy. I have paid my dues, told the truth to the world, his wife and his dog, and worked for 45 years. Now I find I am valueless and the promises made to me under the guise of welfare were equally valuless. Successive governments have lied to me; stolen my savings and moved the goalposts for with regard to my state pension. Private pension companies in league with government, also lied to me.

    I understand that presciptions for medication to manage depression have increased by 40% in the last four years. Society is surprised because…..? My generation has been robbed; fooled, and force fed false promises. Perhaps it would be cheaper for government to bury an entire generation and start over.

    Ah well! Mustn’t grumble eh? No-one is listening anyway and we should always look on the bright side of life, eh Brian?

  3. ‘Capacity to work is not an abstract concept’ « Carer Watch's Blog Says:

    […] Carer Watch's Blog Campaigns for Carers « ‘Capacity to work is not an abstract concept’ […]

Leave a Reply

