Archive for May 24th, 2011

A day in our lives by Pat Onions

24 May 2011

Pat contributes to CarerWatch blog on a regular basis – here is her latest.

I was listening to a repeat of a news clip on the riots in France. Riots about raising the retirement age from 60 to 62. People were throwing missiles, setting fire to cars and making their feelings known.

Feelings were running high amongst our neighbours over the channel. I don’t know what the outcome will be but if that is all their Government is planning I envy them.

I have always been an optimist. Finding some good in everyone and everything. I enjoy life, on the whole, and meet challenges head on. NO and CAN’T are non existent words in my disabled vocabulary.. They are used far too often by those whose, well paid, jobs are to help the disabled.

‘I DON’T WANT TO’ has quite a different meaning!!

This country, I (and some of my family) live in, is being dragged kicking and screaming to somewhere it was never intended.

I don’t like it any more. That feeling of a ‘comfy old pair of slippers’ is changing forever. That feeling I want to live somewhere else grows stronger every day. My husband, a true blooded Yorkshire man, feels exactly the same.

It is hard, bloody hard, trying to live in an able bodied country. With help and support most of us make a bad job bearable.

Not any more. The very fabric of our lives is being destroyed. Torn apart by ‘leaders’ promising the unobtainable. Dreams in their eyes but nightmares in ours.

(more…)

Information for carers from Age UK

24 May 2011

Received from Age UK

Do you provide unpaid care by looking after a family member or friend who needs help due to illness, disability or mental ill-health?

Whether you have been a carer for a long time or have recently joined the millions of people across the UK who look after a relative or friend, you may wish to know more about the support available to you and the person you care for.

Please see here for free information


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,632 other followers

